GCAA Announces 2017 Team Academic Awards

GCAA Announces 2017 Team Academic Awards

NORMAN, Okla. – Georgia State (Division I), St. Edward's (Division II), Kalamazoo (Division III), SCAD-Savannah (NAIA), Central Alabama (NJCAA DI) and Mineral Area College (NJCAA DII) have been named Academic National Champions for their respective divisions, announced the GCAA.

A total of 187 teams submitted GPAs of 3.00 or higher to earn All-Academic Team recognition.

All six programs claimed their first academic national championship.

A total of 38 teams received President's Special Recognition status for having team GPAs of 3.5 or better.

To be eligible for GCAA All-Academic Team honors a college or university must submit the GPAs for each player on its official squad list for the academic year.

Academic National Champions

Division I - Georgia State
Division II - St. Edward's
Division III - Kalamazoo
NAIA - SCAD-Savannah
NJCAA DI - Central Alabama
NJCAA DII - Mineral Area College